Christmas Tree Reduex

Nothing was wrong with the Christmas tree, it was cute with its sparkling balls and glittery star on top.  Then I started going through my Christmas cards from my students and BING! I loved the cards and wanted to display them, but didn’t have a fireplace or a spare surface to do so. So I added hooks to the cards and homemade snowflakes and hung them up. I also stuffed the plush animals and candy canes from the students into the tree. Believe it or not, now the tree seems more…real, if you may. Not so much ‘designed’ or magazine quality as full with meaning and joy. There are even some non-Christmas cards on the tree because they mean a lot to me.

It made me think, sometimes I strive for magazine quality images in my home, that I forget to personalize it with memories. Sometimes this may mean a very artistic photo display area, other times it means hanging up large paper snowflakes and hand-drawn cards.

How does your tree look? Do you have a theme or is it full of handmade goodies? What about cards? How do you display your Christmas card collection each year?

December 25, 2009. DIY, Home Decor.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

